Fun things to create · Scrapbooking · Southern Girls Challenge DT

Southern Girls Challenge – #162 – Sticky business!!

For a scrapbooker, any one of these elements can often be found on my layouts – particularly washi and enamel dots! As much as I love the look of the amazing florals or other bulky embellishments, it’s a look I’ve always found more difficult to recreate, without looking like I just tipped it onto my page! So, I’ve tended to keep my embellishments less bulky and “flatter” – while trying to find ways of bringing in some form of dimension. This is where washi and enamel dots have been a boon – layering up various washi tapes, or sprinkling around the enamel dots lets me dress up the layouts – without the bulkiness.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A more recent form of embellishing is with Nuvo Crystal drops from Tonic – creating the look of fun enamel drops in whatever shape and size I feel like! Often, I’ll team my favourite Nuvo colours in with actual enamel dots…. so fun!

This is what I did on this layout…. created with both enamel dots and Nuvo drops (you can purchase some from this challenge’s sponsor, Krafter’s Cart)

Here’s a couple of close ups:

 

So, seeing as I found this challenge an easy one to partake in (I think I use enamel dots almost everywhere!!), I thought I’d also share with you something new I’ve been having fun with – a card!

Yeah, I’ve caught the card making bug again! This time, it’s thanks to the super fun videos I’m finding on You Tube from the likes of Cathy Zielske, Laura Bassen, Kristina Werner and Jennifer McGuire with their lovely Copic colouring and ink blending techniques. It helps too that super cute stamps from the likes of Mama Elephant, Concord & 9th, and Atenew have sprung up since I last stamped a card or two! It’s been helping that Krafter’s Cart here in NZ stocks so many of these new to me brands! And Meetu is so fast at getting them to me!

 is also one of our regular sponsors at Southern Girls!

Here’s a little something I’ve been having fun with, using Tim Holtz Hipsters, coloured with copics and teamed with distress inks. The seriously fun sentiment was put together with the “OMG” from the Hipsters set, plus the fabulous “Perfectly Penned” (Concord and 9th). There’s much to be improved in all aspects – but seriously…. this was F-U-N!!!

Hope you check out what the rest of the Team Lou girls have gotten sticky with – washi, sequins and enamel dots – just the most fun things of all!! Do be sure to check out the challenge, and join us!

4 thoughts on “Southern Girls Challenge – #162 – Sticky business!!

  1. loving all the different sizes of dots on the page they really embellish it perfectly. Glad you joined the colouring bug & what a cool hipster!!!

  2. What a fab layout! I think I need to treat myself to some of those enamel dots, although I love how you used the Nuvo drops to create yours, will have to look out for some myself.x

Leave a Reply

