Scrapbooking · Southern Girls Challenge DT

Southern Girls Challenge #156 – Add a die cut!

 

Good grief – it’s that time already…. yep – Team Lou is up with a brand new challenge. And you guys will laugh – I have so many of these kinds of embellishments, you’d think it would be easy to choose…. uh no. So I had a ton of fun bringing this together….! Mists, gesso, die cuts – all over the place!!

So Team Lou is challenging you this week to add a die cut to your project – it might be a favourite from your big shot, or digital cutter, or a favourite pack of ephemera – where ever you get your die cuts – add them into your project, and you’re good to go with our challenge this month!

 

My photo started this page – my jeans and my jandals were a good navy blue – and so I wanted to create a beachy vibe using that navy as an accent. Ah, yeah…. having found the background, it suddenly wasn’t that easy to find the other papers to mix in with it…. despite my gazillion years old stash with 1000 different papers!! So I ended up picking a bunch of different papers from various ranges, and tried to keep to a palette of blue, yellow and a touch of red. Mixing so many patterns, I needed something to pull it all together – so went to my old time trick of inking all the edges with the same ink – I used Ali Edward Deschutes.

When I finished inking and started fixing the papers to the background, I still wasn’t convinced I’d managed to bring it together – so out came a tube of Ranger white gesso. A light touch of that, pulled across the all the papers from top to bottom brought in that beachy, sun-bleached feel.

My die cuts are a varied lot: the geo tag, sunnies, labels, and diamond shapes are all die cuts. The geo tag and the sunnies are from a collection of pre-cut embellies I’d created a while back from just cutting white card stock. Initially, I used a couple of mists (navy and sky Mister Hueys) – but they ended up so saturated in colour, I really didn’t think they went so well – so I used more gesso to dial back the vibrancy on the tag, and turned the sunnies over, so you see the mist that has come through from the front, but still leaves the white cardstock.

So there you have it – any old die cut can be added to a project – and if it doesn’t quite “go” – alter it so it works better!!

The other Team Lou girls have some really cute projects using their die cuts too – so head on over to the SG blog, and get some inspiration to join us! The girls have used images from the sponsors for this challenge: Kenny K and Krafters Cart – but you don’t need their images to join us – just grab your favourite die cut, add some pretty paper or colouring and you’ll be good to go!

5 thoughts on “Southern Girls Challenge #156 – Add a die cut!

Leave a Reply

