Scrapbooking · Southern Girls Challenge DT

Southern Girls Challenge – Let’s go Retro!

Our latest challenge is up on the Southern Girls Challenge blog – Number 152 is about going Retro with your embellishments…… buttons, brads, ribbons….. hunt out those old school embellishments in your stash and join us!

I decided to use buttons – and you can tell i’m out of practice, as the first layout I finished with was…. hmmmm… not something I was totally happy to share. Luckily, over the weekend, I was on a scrappy weekend with my lovely ScrapMates (a fantastic bunch of women that enjoy hanging out and creating stuff with paper!), and I was able to work on something a lot more share-worthy.

The layout started with a photo of my lovely, old fashion styled tea cups. Perfect to pair with a retro embellishment like buttons! The only buttons I had in my stash were quite clean, and modern in style, although they were wooden. So, with that in mind, I decided to keep everything fairly clean and simple….

jan-retro-embellishments

Those of you “of a certain age” might remember a column in the New Zealand Women’s Weekly called “over the tea cups” – perfect title here don’t you think?

Hope you check out the other creations the rest of Team Lou have put together, and join us in the challenge.

 

6 thoughts on “Southern Girls Challenge – Let’s go Retro!

  1. Fabulous layout Kelly!
    Oooh, your cups & saucers are lovely and it is sweet to see them celebrated for the treasure they are 🙂
    ….feeling inspired, think I might photograph and scrap about some of the old treasures from my loved ones now, they each have a story

  2. Gorgeous job Kelly! Shame you weren’t happy with the first take, but how fab to have some crafty pals to get together with and share inspiration! Love that! Also love what you came up with too. Gorgeous layout and the buttons work perfectly!! Hugs, Wends xoxo

Leave a Reply

