Challenge · December Album project · Scrapbooking · Southern Girls Challenge DT

Challenge #150 – anything goes just in time for Christmas!

Hi everyone, so nice to be back to the blog. Real life events meant I needed a break from the blog – and from the Southern Girls DT obligations in particular. Thanks to Team Lou and the rest of the girls for allowing me the little bit of time as space – so appreciated it!!

But just in time for Christmas – I’m back to share a little bit of creativity before Christmas. I’ve really enjoyed doing layouts here and there the last few weeks. I need to get photos printed for my Project Life album for the last three months. I tend to take a relaxed approach to these photos – I certainly don’t need a photo a day, and take a monthly perspective, so usually just print the photos I like for a particular month, get them in, do a bit of fluffing with the pretty stuff and call it good. I’m planning on putting my summer break to good use and get 2016 in the album and D.O.N.E!

And what better way to come back to the blog world – an “Anything Goes” challenge from Team Lou at Southern Girls!

SGCBLog banner

So, with a few layouts in my back pocket, happy enough with the PL progress, I decided I would once again embark on a December Daily style album…. a mini album project documenting December stories up to Christmas. Some people go through to the end of December. Some go through to 6 January. I like mine to be 1-25 December. In past years, the albums have not always been finished. Ahem… But this year, it’s looking good for a complete album. Wooohooo!

Day 1:

dd-1

I’ve not purchased any particular kits this year. I have a LOT of Christmas items – or items I can make into Christmas items! – so didn’t want to have to deal with a massive amount of leftovers. I pulled most of the items I already had, and ordered a few bits and pieces from ranges that I liked that had come out this year: Pink Fresh (Oh Joy), Illustrated Faith (CHRISTmas!), and a sprinkling of Crate Paper (Snow and Cocoa). I purchased just the album from Ali Edwards, and belatedly decided that I really really really needed the December stars stamp set.

I’m also bringing in elements of Shimelle’s Journal Your Christmas with various prompts. Yes, this album is going to end up as a real hodge podge of ideas! And as each story is evolving, I am really enjoying the process this year, and have very high hopes of getting the project completed!

One item I failed to work out that I needed was numbers. Oh dear!!  I really like how the the Facebook group are showing finished pictures of a mix of large and small numbers. I also really prefer using advent numbers – so it looks like a “25” rather than a 2 and a 5 added together. Well, that aesthetic is going to go out the window as I work out how to use the numbers I do have!  One of the things I saw being used in a few finished pages were the really large numbers – luckily for me I had a set from an older Studio Calico set in cork (for zero through to nine) – so a couple of pages will feature these lovely numbers.

I’ve done a number of pages – but not photographed all of them yet. I’ll come back and share more later in December once I have them photographed.

Here’s a quick look at my day 11:

dd-3

Love mixing up the photos in and out of the pocket pages, using tags as journalling spots, and just having different sized “pages” within the one album.

dd-4

 

And there is a quick look at my December project. How are you documenting your December?

Do go over and have a peek at the other items the Team Lou girls have completed – they are just awesome. And hope you get some time during your Christmas celebrations to enjoy some crafting of your own.

Team Lou Jpeg (1)

4 thoughts on “Challenge #150 – anything goes just in time for Christmas!

  1. You are so good at getting a December Daily done! I’m still behind on last years! The pocket and folder style is so versatile and easy to add to. And yay to you for making sure you are in the photos!

  2. oh wow here is the album you were telling me about today!!!
    looking great…i so need to do some too!!! up to day 10
    now to print more photos
    well done you

  3. Popping in today to wish you a wonderful 2017 Kelly. May it be filled with love, laughter, health and plenty of uninterrupted crafty hours! Loved your fabulous scrapbook layouts in 2016. Inspiring! Hugs, Wends xoxo

Leave a Reply

