Challenge · Scrapbooking · Southern Girls Challenge DT

Southern Girls challenge #140: Anything goes with Team Lou!

SGCBLog banner

Hi everyone – hope your crafty days are going well!

Team Lou is up again with the challenge for the fortnight 1 Sept to 15 September…. and it’s Anything Goes! Just as well it was this lovely catch all theme – as I managed to squeeze in two layouts for three challenges…. yes, this layout will do me for two challenges!

This layout started life as a sketch challenge on a Kiwi Challenges facebook group – if you are a scrapbooking kiwi, feel free to look us up! The lovely Annelie Maddock issued the first challenge for the group with this sketch:

My take on the sketch is this:

142 - anything goes

I wanted to point out the tiny stamped circles in behind the paper layers. When I saw the sketch, I saw a whole lot of mixed media elements. I was trying to figure out how to incorporate some texture paste, but decided to leave it out. A lot of my collage style stamping that is peeking out from under paper is largely hidden too…. and I thought you’d see a bit more of the stamped circles. I wasn’t quite sure how I was going to bring this to my page – my circle stencils for misting or texture are all quite different…. and then a courier arrived with some new dinner plates. Talk about great timing!!! Yes…. that is BUBBLE WRAP I’ve used!! Definitely fun to try! And those big circles in the right hand corner… milk bottle lid!! Hahaaha!! I’m absolutely certain that the term “mixed media” isn’t intended to be interpreted the way I did – but for someone that tends to use standard items…. it was almost “arty”!!! Almost!

My title ended up a little bigger than I thought – that happens when the title comes to me near the end! It meant my little hand-made banner got removed – but that’s OK – it’ll turn up on a different page!!  The journalling for this page will tell how my good friends Mandy and Carmel came to have coffee in our new house… organised on a day off work before we moved in so that I could be there for delivery of a sofa and the curtain man to hang the new curtains! The only items in the whole house at that point were the bar stools, my tea cups and saucers, and my coffee maker… so coffee was in the cupboards, and milk was in the fridge…. and that was it!!! A very bare bones afternoon tea, along with the super yummy donuts brought with my visitors… but so nice to share the new house with them.

Look forward to seeing your creations on the Southern Girls challenge post – happy crafting!!

Team Lou Jpeg (1)

2 thoughts on “Southern Girls challenge #140: Anything goes with Team Lou!

  1. ohhhhhhhhhhhh thats me (with my eyes closed..lol)
    yah you and love all the items you have used to create all the marks

  2. Ooh you clever girlie! I think your circles are awesome! Bubble wrap and bottle tops who’d a thunk?! Love the sketch and your interpretation of it. Fabulous layout and the title size is just right I think. Love the wee teacup stamps too. Love what you did for this challenge. Hugs, Wends xoxo

Leave a Reply

