Challenge · Fun things to create · Scrapbooking

Paper Teapot challenge – a recipe

The Paper Teapot has a great facebook group that I’ve been lucky enough to join around two or three months ago. They have monthly challenges and I’ve managed to pull something together for both June and July challenges so far. And I’m loving the results! July had the a recipe challenge which I entered a layout in quite quickly. I didn’t share it here as the pic involved my big boy and I just didn’t want to blank out his face yet again. So, I had it in my head that I would just repeat the challenge for a page featuring me…. and then the bonus was that the onwer of Paper Teapot decided that we could enter a second time…. win!!

The recipe (by Michelle Henderson):

I will give you the ingredients and a written recipe, just follow the instructions if possible (but don’t worry if you don’t have the products, you can improvise!), there’s no right or wrong, just have fun with it! Measurements are all in inches.

Ingredients (for a 12×12 page)…

  • 1 full piece of cardstock
  • Stencil
  • Paste or gel
  • Gelato, paint or ink
  • Doily or similar
  • Paper 7 co-ordinating pieces (you can use the same paper twice) 6.5×6.5, 5×5, 7.5×1.5, 8×1.5, .75×9.5, .75×3, 11x.5
  • Photo (of course!) 4×4
  • Washi
  • Diecuts x 2 or other embellishments
  • Chipboard
  • Thread

Method

  • Place stencil on left half of your cardstock and cover with paste or gel.
  • Once dry, choose a colour to randomly cover the same area.
  • Cut papers to size. Place large square one centrally on the page, and the second square one about .75 from the bottom left corner of the first.
  • Place 2 strips of paper vertically over large square, and 3 strips horizontally.
  • Adhere doily on top of paper stack, then photo on top of doily.
  • Place die cut or embellishment to bottom left of stack, and another to the bottom right.
  • Layer your chipboard with the left hand embellishment.
  • Tear a 3in strip of washi in half and lay along base of layout approx. 1.5 inches from the bottom right corner. Use this as the base of your title. Tuck the other half of the washi along one of the paper strips to the left of you photo. Use the same or other washi to lay a couple of strips
  • horizontally to the right of your photo.
  • Scrunch a little thread and tuck under your embellishments and photo.
  • Add stickers and/or enamel dots here and there.
  • Edge by sewing, doodling, inking or stamping.

My result

Paperteapot - July16 #2

I’m really happy this turned out – although …. in my head I thought it would be a lot pinker based on the Studio Calico Printshop paper I had as my jumping off point. Instead, the teals and yellows that I am using so frequently at the moment definitely feature!!

 

I am also loving the Nuvo drops – creating as many enamel dots as I please!!

Jun16#2detail1

 

Jun16#2detail2

 

I’d really love it if you decide to follow the recipe if you would link your examples in below!

Happy scrapping!!

One thought on “Paper Teapot challenge – a recipe

Leave a Reply

