family · Fun times! · Scrapbooking

We are family

Today I needed to come home after a couple of hours at work. Primarily it was to be here for my boy who is feeling a bit off colour, but honestly, I have also been feeling sub-par. So, after a meeting I had to attend for a couple of hours, I packed up and headed back home. The sun was out, and it was so nice to relax with my boy, see that he was feeling a bit brighter, and generally just be here. Surfing around (as you do!) a scrapbooking friend posted a sketch I really liked – and her layout using the sketch. I got a bit itchy for pretty paper, and there was a challenge in the Paper Teapot Facebook group that I really wanted to play with. From there… I just had to pull some pretty paper!!

The Paper Teapot challenge was to use: fringing, gold, pastels, wood grain and butterflies.

Paper teapot June challenge

The photo is from Christmas Eve last year where my visiting brother and I went to the airport to collect my Dad who was flying in. While there, we realised my nephew, who was heading back to his home town for Christmas in the morning, was still in town. With that, we called and made sure he was home, swung by his place in the city, and we had a quick wee catch-up. It was especially nice as my nephew is my sister’s boy, and it kind of felt like my whole family was somehow at my place for Christmas this time. Short and very sweet – but still! (By the way, he ALWAYS seems to have photos with closed eyes… is there a name for that??!)

You might spot this layout is missing the butterflies for the challenge…. ahem. I picked this up while I was loading the page to the group, and have fixed it…. there are now wee pink butterflies near each of the stars on the page. Journalling is also done. The gold is a little hard to see. It’s the title thickers, shine mist and the striped washi. Mission: accomplished! The exciting thing is that I’ve been able to enter my first challenge with The Paper Teapot – yay!

Here’s a couple of close-ups for you to enjoy the detail….

16-06-16 - detail a

16-06-16 - detail b

One thought on “We are family

Leave a Reply

