Rugby · Scrapbooking · Southern Girls Challenge DT

Southern Girls Challenge #136 – For the kids!

I’m up on Southern Girls again with the latest challenge from Team Lou. This time it’s all “for the kids”.

With two “screenagers” – and boys at that! – it’s often a challenge in its own right getting photos – let alone scrapping ones!! But I am “The Most Annoying Mother in the Whole World” and I take what I can, AND ensure I get a few pages of their activities scrapped just for them. Pages like this will end up in an album for them. One that I hope they will take with them in time, and show their own families! Which is why I enjoy putting together pages which look similar year on year. And rugby in this house has been a fixture on Saturday mornings for nigh on ten (TEN!!) years!

This one features number 1 boy, who is now playing in the Under 65kg team for his school for the second year. It’s a new team, so they are beginning to work together quite nicely. And there is something really special about watching a group of young men really trying to do their best for their fellow team members and themselves.

So this layout is for my boy…..

138 - for the kids - layout

This layout is using almost all paper – there’s a teeny bit of washi, and a few puffy spots and stars for embellishment… but for the most part, this is a pretty simple layout. Most papers have come from old Studio Calico kits from 2011-12 era, and the 12×12 piece is the only recent piece from Shimelle’s Star Shine collection.

Here’s a couple of close-ups on some of the detail:

9 jun detail b

9 jun detail c

And after cutting into my papers, I had a few scraps. Well, truthfully, more than a few scraps. Some were larger, and I’ve put them back into storage to use again another day. But some were smaller and realistically, I know I’m not going to use them. So I did something I swear is a great idea – but rarely actually do – creating a card! It’s been quite some time since I have actually put together a card!!

138 - for the kids - card

The floral is actually the “A-side” of the newsprint / text paper I used on the layout! Boy layout – girl card.

Pretty sure that covers the brief of “for the kids”!

Make sure you head over to Southern Girls to check out the rest of Team Lou’s DT examples. It’s card maker heaven!!

SGCBLog banner

3 thoughts on “Southern Girls Challenge #136 – For the kids!

Leave a Reply

