Scrapbooking · Southern Girls Challenge DT

Southern Girls Challenge #134 – Anything Goes!

Southern Girls is up with another Challenge – and this week Team Lou are out there with Anything Goes!

I have to confess – sometimes when you can do anything you like – I find it the hardest thing of all to come up with an idea! I started with a photo of my son’s last day of cricket back in March. I had it printed as one I knew I wanted to do a 12×12 layout with. Even though you can’t actually see either his or his bestie’s faces! It was about capturing the ritual that they have developed when out on the wicket together. So I had that.

But what to do with it??

I didn’t want to go theme-y. For a start, I’m still trying to locate specific supplies since our move – like the sheet of cricket themes stickers I know I have! And I didn’t want to use the club colour – white (of course – it is cricket!!) and navy. There will be a ton of those club type pages when I’m done! Then I remembered an app that Shimelle Laine (aka Glitter Girl) showed in one of her videos: Adobe Capture. You hold your phone over the photo, and it picks out colours in that photo into a scheme. It keeps going until you tap the screen so you can get a variety of colours…. depending on where the colour spots are that are being picked up by the app. It’s really clever in that it puts a bunch of colours together that you wouldn’t automatically pick!

Screenshot_2016-05-08-14-54-17

 

The colours look a little different here than they did on my phone – there it looked, navy, olive, yellow, tan and brick red. So I went looking through my papers, and pulled sheets that roughly matched those colours…. and ended up with this lot.

134 paper

 

That gave me my starting point, and once I’d worked out where I wanted to have the photo itself sit, it was a matter of cutting and sticking. And misting. And finding cool embellishments to go with it all.

You might laugh – I was going to use green letters for my title. And then I looked again – the blue in the chevron paper didn’t really show as much as I wanted… so I decided to mist some chipboard thickers I had with a pattern – which I knew would resist the colour I was applying. Great idea! Even better was that I decided to do the misting outside! Five small squirts when waaaaay further than I anticipated!

 

13124492_10154097585801635_1535125720696759780_n

Yeah…. that packaging is now in the rubbish!!

Luckily, I put it no where near the actual page I was working on… and here it is…

134 - anything goes

We’d love to see your entry – remember that just one entry per person, and your entry can be entered into no more than 10¬†challenges in total.

3 thoughts on “Southern Girls Challenge #134 – Anything Goes!

  1. Wow, I just wanna come hang out and watch you work for a while Kelly. Your layouts are fantastic and I want to run and hide after my debacle! Love the paper combo, the inky splashes and the ‘just right’ elements. Brilliant! Hugs, Wends x

Leave a Reply

