One Little Word

One Little Word for 2016: Renew

OLW - renew

Anyone else out there working on a One Little Word project this year?

Those familiar with Ali Edwards will know that at the beginning of each year, Ali chooses a word that resonates with her and then explores what that means as the year unfolds. This is instead of making a myriad of resolutions that tend to get largely placed to one side by 2 January!

I took the class back in 2011 when she first launched the concept as a class on the old Big Picture Classes site (man, I miss that platform!). I’ve not taken up the class at any point since then as it was clear that the prompts were largely the same, but presented differently. I have however continued to hold a word close over the course of 12 months in the years since I took that class. Words like focus, nurture – words that were what I needed to hold to in that year.

I didn’t really do this last year. But on 1 January, I was surprised that a word was forming in my head – and doing so rather loudly.

Renew.

There is an opportunity for us to renew ourselves. There’s an opportunity for us to leave the past behind and present something different for the future.
Jay Weatherill

Possibly as a result of feeling like there are many new beginnings now that we are in our new home. Possibly as a result of thinking of relationships and friendships that I want to make sure remain important to me. Possibly for more reasons that I know of at the moment. But that word feels like a good word for 2016. So that seems like a good thought to work with.

And for the first time in ages, it feels like something to work with in a scrappy way. So I’ve decided to take the class notes from 2011 and work with them again. There is a 2016 workshop that can be done with Ali at the helm again. But for me, I think I’ll be working within the format of my Project Life Album. This means inserting different sized pages right there inside the month I’m working on, along with my PL pockets and my 12×12 pages.

If you are also taking part in the One Little Word (OLW) concept or class for 2016, I’d love to hear from you. Let me know your word in the comments below – and be sure to leave me links to how you are documenting it.

Happy crafting,

Kelly

2 thoughts on “One Little Word for 2016: Renew

  1. I love that we managed to choose such similar words! Will definitely be good motivation to work on the prompts each month 😀

Leave a Reply

