thoughts

Making Lemonade

A saying that I’ve picked up from books and movies and TV is about when life throws you lemonade; make lemonade. It’s not a saying that I grew up hearing but it’s one that always made me smile once I did start hearing it. Right now, I’m making lemonade.

As we headed back into school last week and the Mr’s started back into their routines, we appeared to be settleing into  our groove. I felt refreshed and ready to really get stuck into the dual role of home and work.

Then my manager called at home on Sunday evening.

She had been called into a meeting on Friday and it was one that had I worked those hours, I would also have been called into. She was told that her role had been disestablished – and therefore so was mine. It’s in relation to the legal aid review that came out last year. Although we were both expecting that particular boot to drop, it was a shock to have it  happen now. Because of various communications , we thought it was more like to be towards the end of the year. Her role and mine are the only two immediately affected in such a direct manner. It’s a little hard to swallow.

Monday was the most surreal working day of my life: I knew what was about to be announced but was to continue to work until all staff were informed a little later in the morning. I think I pulled off keeping it together through that day. Yesterday was a little tougher as the news really sinks in…. the dream job that I have loved since starting there only in November is about to go.

Thanks to a lot of deep breathing on my part and an amazing amount of support being given to me, I’m feeling a little stronger. No doubt there will be up days and down days as I go through this particular ride. But I am finding the ability to see the positive in this news.

Three months ago I didn’t have any recent experience of being employed. Now I have and I will get a great reference to boot. I now have a lot more confidence in my abilities to actually work in this environment; whereas before I thought I probably could do it, I now know that I absolutely can do it.  Before I kind of-sort of knew what direction I want to take, now I have two equally good options to work with and in doing so, increase my chances of finding something in either admin or legal exec. Before I was mounting my quest for a job on my own, now I have the support and advice from several respected people to try and help open doors. While I thought this role was just the most perfect one there was, maybe something even better is going to come up.

All of those things are the lemonade that is coming from the huge lemon that came my way. It’s going to be a little rough until I know how things are going to play out, but I know I have the support of some really wonderful people and that I am unspeakingly grateful for that. Another piece of advice given to me just after the news came out was to look after myself. I’m taking that to heart – and have given myself permission to feel sad and angry and all those things. But I’m determined to see this through and get to the other side. You’ll still see me laughing and making the usual lame jokes!

So yeah, that’s the curve ball I’m dealing with at the moment. I’ll keep you posted. Keep me in your thoughts or prayers for the moment – I might need them!

10 thoughts on “Making Lemonade

  1. Oh Kelly, that is such a bummer! But I have the view too that everything happens for a reason, and although it may not be immediately clear, there is an even more perfect opportunity awaiting you! But of course do look after yourself in the meantime. Thinking of you 🙂

  2. You take care of yourself Kelly, the person who told you that is so right, it’s pretty easy to let it all get on top of you. Like Mich said, when one door shuts…so what’s the bet in a few months you’ll look back and think while it was a great job, this new one is even better.

  3. I’m really impressed by your amazingly positive attitude. You are right, there are good things to remember like the work experience you now have, and the excellent reference you will receive. Still, the news in itself has to suck – and I’m sorry you had to hear it. But I’m sure the lemonade you are making will be refreshing and revitalising … perhaps the future holds something even more perfect than your “dream job”. Keep your chin up, I’m thinking of you and wishing you every happiness. I know good things will come your way, Kelly!

  4. Awwww Kel … sorry to hear that. On the bright … lemonade side … maybe you’ll have time for a catch up like we used to? Although I’m also hoping that you’ll find the perfect job to walk right into …. thinking of you … :o)

  5. Believe in yourself my friend … these things happen for a reason and sometimes we can’t always see the light at the end of the tunnel or understand why at the time … hang in there … and may the tunnel be short.

    Hugs.

  6. Aww Kelly, what a shame. Good on you for deciding to focus on the positive. And there is lots of positive when you look for it 🙂 Keep squashing those lemons 🙂

  7. So, so sorry you’ve been made redundant. When that happened to me, I cried a lot. But a great job was waiting round the corener for me. And it’s very good advice to take care of yourself. And use your current company to make lots of copies of your CV!

  8. what can I say, everyone else has said it so well. One thing I know for sure is that this will be a stepping stone onto bigger and better things awaiting you. Never easy when your going through it but I know things will work out. Hope you have been doing some “me” things for you…….

Leave a Reply

