family

“And here’s the news…”

There are still the formalities, but I can now share my news with you without fear of jinxing anything!

I have a job!!

Wooohooo! I’m really excited about it – and a little nervous too. 😆

It’s PA / Executive Assistant role in a government agency that deals with legal aid. Although at this point in time I won’t be using my newly acquired Legal Exec. qualification, the job ticks so many of the must have boxes for me, it’s pretty near perfect. For a start, it’s 20 hours a week, during school hours, with great flexiblity around school holidays. It is in a legal environment and they love the fact I have the qual, so in time use may be made of that. And best of all… they wanted ME!!

Having not worked (in a PAID capacity…. I am so not saying I’ve not “worked” while being a full-time mum!! LOL) in New Zealand for close on 11 years now, heading back into that environment is definitely a bit surreal. After the interview (which was 1 and a half hours long!) I had a really good feeling about the organisation. It seems to be a really good fit for the likes of me, and definitely has the vibe of being family-friendly. The manager that I’ll be reporting to and at least one of the other managers that will be in the daily mix both seemed to be very nice people. All adding up to a very good impression of the type of work environment I’m heading into.

So THAT’s why I decided that I really needed the reward of a good camera after longing for one for aaaaaages. And speaking of which, I’ve had a great time playing with it! Lots to learn to get the most out of it. I think I’ll be attending a camera club with my good friend and neighbour and awesomely arty photo friend, Liz.

web 8

Mr 8 and Uncle R testing out new remote control cars

web 5

Mr 5 concentrating on his remote car

11 thoughts on ““And here’s the news…”

  1. Congratulations, Kelly!! I was wondering (and hoping) that your big news was job-related. It sounds absolutely perfect, especially the school hours. And perhaps having a less full-on start with this role would be a better transition back into the workforce than if you were thrown head first into using your new qualification … obviously given time, you will have lots more opportunities and a “foot in the door” so to speak and will get to use all that knowledge as you get settled and used to being a working-outside-the-home Mum! 🙂

  2. Congrats Kelly! So I’m guessing one of those formalities still to be finalised is your start date? Hoping we can catch up and celebrate before you start. :o)

    Camera club sounds like a good way to enjoy your new toy.

  3. Congratulations!!!! It’s very weird going back but also strange how soon it becomes the norm 😉 All the best for the first few weeks as you and your family settle in…

  4. Well then, just caught up … first day on the job will now have been and gone – hope it was a good one for you.

    Just remember, every day is a challenge and some days are more challenging than others.

    Enjoy the challenges ahead my friend … woo hoo !!!

Leave a Reply

