Challenge · Holiday fun · Scrapbooking

A tree layout

This week’s challenge for the SBO Very Sweet Christmas competition was to create a layout using a photo of this year’s tree. Luckily for me, we had the tree up just before I read what the challenge was.

And then I needed to find time to actually produce the darn layout!! 😆

Which may have been a good thing, as the idea percolated in my mind for a few days. Actually, this is nothing like what I had in mind, because I saw smaller photos and more white space. But in the hour I had to play this afternoon (in between school pick-up and the return for the school disco starting at 5), the creation became this.

pc110645

I see my photographic skills are getting worse rather than better and I’m not sure the light I was using is really an excuse – but in real life the colours work really well. I also wanted to use the words to a little christmas ditty I know – because it has been going around and around and around my head the last few weeks thanks to a “Spot’s Musical Christmas” book we have here.  If I knew how to get a post with music in the background, I would inflict share the song upon with you all as well!

And I should admit here and now that although you see the Mr’s helping decorate, this is one thing I’m a bit anal about. The decs MUST be reasonably spread, balanced, generally green/red/gold and not too tacky. I love the fact I have some nice ornaments that have been accumulated from around the globe and over the years. That “Noel” glittery string was actually on a display in a shop in Antwerp and I was able to persuade the owner to part with it. This year’s additions are three little birdies from Kirkcaldies…. the bird trend isn’t just in scrapbooking!! 😯 😆

Layout details: Various pp from last year’s Srapcook Essentials Dec kit plus vellum and Stampin Up! paper; Maya Road journalling spot; Dymo label; prima flowers; KaiserCraft flourish; paint; glimmermist; various ribbons, fabric and beads; Making Memories glitter alpha and American Craft thicjers; white gel pen

10 thoughts on “A tree layout

  1. lol over the decorating – is right!!!!!! dont look at my kindergarten’s tree then- it would send you over the edge!!!!

  2. Just reading those words has got that little song stuck in my head … no need for background music! Very nice on the tree decorating and layout … and why do they throw in a school disco at this time of the year anyway? I was a meanie and didn’t let the kids go, with one supposed to be there from 4.30 till 6 and the other from 6.15 till 8 it just wasn’t going to happen. Enjoy your weekend … I’ve just sent the kids and dh out to get a tree!

  3. Love the layout, Kelly!
    Having a Type A personality, I can completely relate to being anal about the decoration of the tree. Luckily (??) for me, my boys aren’t too fussed about it, so they don’t care if I “adjust” or move things around after they have hung them on! LOL 😉

  4. too funny about the tree and how the decorations should be placed etc….if truth be told I would probably be the same if I had kids. Like the layout and the colours…..

  5. Well done getting that l/o done. Our tree is up – barely …… but the outside lights are up in a big way!

Leave a Reply

