family · Fun times! · Holiday fun

Anyone missing me yet???

Hee heee! I’m away on holiday. Again!

With the family this time. Hubby has the brass band national champs in Christchurchand and we’ve come down a few days earlier to have a bit of a break. We had a booking on the ferry and reports of nasty weather had me feeling squeamish for days before departure. I do not like ferry crossings at the best of times. I definitely do not like them when it gets more than a little swell on. And did you see the weather that was due to come through??? I decided ignorance was indeed bliss and refused to acknowledge any further weather reports.

Happily for us, we had a great sailing. Really great. We then drove to Hanmer springs. Awesome!! Why? Because there was TONS of snow!! And we hasย a fabulous time. There were two lovely dogs who befriended Mr 7. He actaully cried when it came to departure time this morning – he wanted to take them with us. They would have made wonderful pets, but they already had a family. We had wonderful snowball fights, built several snowmen around the town and a nice long soak in the hot pools. I remember now why Hanmer is such a cool place… pityย  it’s too far for us to come on a regular basis. Got GREAT photos. Which I can’t share just now because I didn’t bring the doofah thingy to download. But I did bring the chargers so I can keep taking great photos…..

This morning we travelled further south to Ashburton to my mum’s. Snowed as we left – so very pretty. We are here for a few couple of nights before we head back to Christchurch. Apparently the weather is meant to go nasty again come Tursday…… here’s hoping we get the good weather back before we get back on that big boat next Monday! ๐Ÿ˜•

13 thoughts on “Anyone missing me yet???

  1. Wow good stuff re the ferry ride and the snow – I looooove Hamner… been years since I’ve visited… hope the rest of your trip goes well

  2. OHHH you lucky thing! i hope you have warm sockies im jealous of the photos!! cos then you get to use cool snowflakey winter pages!!!
    Drive safe for next week!

  3. I’m glad you had a good crossing! I was thinking of you that day, as it was positively nasty weather everywhere else.
    Sounds like you’ve had a great time in Hamner … I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday, and keep safe ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Oh yay so glad the ferry ride was plain sailing and fingers crossed it is like that for you on the way home tooo……

    YAY snow ๐Ÿ™‚ so cant wait to see those photos, snowball fights! Wow sounds like everyone is having a blast, take care driving and stay warm xox

  5. Have a great break! My girls are itching to get to the snow!
    Goodluck for the crossing back ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Whew well timed on that great ferry crossing! And it sounds like you picked an awesome time, woaa snow and snowball fights, how cool! Years since I last touched snow.
    Have a wonderful time, keep warm and safe ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Oh was thinking of you Kelly when they said they had cancelled the crossings! Glad you had a good trip over, here’s hoping the one back will be just as smooth. Lucky you having all that snow in Hamner, Vicki will be pleased too! Enjoy the rest of your holiday.

  8. Safe Travels Kelly. Shame you didn’t get to meet up with Vicki in Hamner, but she will be here on Friday night. Look forward to meeting you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. How cool, lots of snow – can’t wait to see the pics!
    I know how you felt about the ferry ride – I hate boats at the best of times!

Leave a Reply

