family · Friends · Scrapbooking · thoughts

Things to keep smiling about

I was about to head out the door to Mr 6’s rugby practice when I checked the emails just before I left. One left me gobsmacked. Janine’s e-mail telling me Scrapbook Essentials is about to wind up. At teh end of the month. It can’t be true was my first thought. But then I headed over to the forum and yes indeed, an announcement from Meg confirmed it.

Scrapbook Essentials has been an amazing experience. One I had no idea that would come to mean so much to me over the last 2 years. Through this forum I have met some truly amazing women that have become fantastic friends. Others I have yet to meet yet I class them the same. Truly amazing friends.

I’ve been part of a few other forums but have not been so active on them. None have compared to the genuine warmth, encouragement and just that general cosy feel of a family. That was the strength of SE.

24 hours after hearing of Meg’s decision, I have witnessed the outpouring of schock and support. Because Meg has chosen to end an amazingly successful venture for one of the most fantastic reasons you could. For family.

I am thankful that I was part of the SE family. That I came out of lurkdom to be embraced and encouraged. I am grateful that I had been given the opportunity to pass the time of day with amazing women. I am gobsmacked at the enormity of the vibe of wanting to stick together – to keep the “family” intact. Someone is working on some ideas so time will tell how it pans out. I hope for the best. I am grateful that the inter-web allows people like me to meet people like these and connect with them. I am grateful that there are things such as blogs where no matter what, most of the SE ladies will keep in contact with each other.

To Meg: I salute you for having a dream and making it so darn successful. I admire how your dream magnatised into something really valuable and worthwhile for so many of us. And I applaud you for making a very tough decision in order to be the mum you want to be. Go you 🙂

8 thoughts on “Things to keep smiling about

  1. We will all find a way to stay in touch cos what we have together thru scrapping forums is too good to just let slip away 🙂

  2. Definitely a family at SE, but am sure we will stick together in one way or another.
    Looking forward to meeting you in Oct when I’m in Wellington 🙂

  3. Like I said in my email I was shocked and felt lost, today after it all sinking in I feel okay. I think thats because last night Megan R said she would find a way to keep us chatting. So today I feel happy cos Meg is going to be able to have more time with her young family and because we get to keep on chatting one way or another. I love that I have made so many friendships from the forum.

Leave a Reply

