thoughts

The one word

Last year Ali Edwards introduced us the concept of One word – the one word that spoke to you and summed up something about yourself or your life that you wanted to focus on. Mine last year was Happy – and that was a great word.

This year at the same point, I was thinking and thinking and thinking. Nothing really spoke to me. There was a lot that I wanted to “define” me and focus on over the year. But nothing that captured the essence of what I wanted in one word.

This morning it came to me. In the shower of all places. The place itself is not really that surprising – I tend to wake up and collect my thoughts for the day into some sort of order. But considering I wasn’t even aware that I was thinking on these things, I was stunned at how the word just coalesced and hit me right between the eyes. Discipline.

And no peoples, not that kind! Get your lovely minds out of the gutter!! 😆

At the beginning of the year I went through what I describe as a mini-breakdown. Thanks to good friends, one in particular who caught me right at the starting point, I have been put back on the right track and getting things back into order and under some sort of control. Going through some therapy several items have been focused on. Primarily the concept of refeulling myself so that I can continue to be there for those that need me. Essentially my “tank” ran out – and had probably been running on empty for quite some time.

With that as background, the last few months I have been re-establishing routines. Things that need to become routine. Things I realise that I’m not so good at ensuring do become routine. Things like exercise, eating well, study, housework, setting up systems so that I have support, ohhhh and endless others. What I am good at is getting caught up in stuff that is fun, that I enjoy, or that I simply do in order to avoid those things I need to do.

There’s also a BOM prompt over at SE along the lines of name one thing you would like to change about yourself. The month is almost up.

I wonder if it was that in the end that helped gel my subconcious into gear. Whatever it was, there is a word for me this year. That word is Discipline.

7 thoughts on “The one word

  1. Great word, Kelly! It sounds like it’s a perfect fit for you.
    I love your comment: “refuelling myself so that I can continue to be there for those that need me”. Wow, that is KEY. I think so many of us (mums) just give, give, give all the time, and don’t pay a lot of attention to “refuelling” ourselves. And as that old saying goes “If Momma ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy!” … how true that is. We need time to focus on ourselves, and that is NOT always just some scrapbooking time! Like you say, it’s fairly easy to set aside time for fun stuff, but it’s time for other things that are important but get put on the back burner. Things like exercise, looking after yourself, setting up routines and systems, feeling like you have a handle on things. When those things are sorted, it’s easier to give of yourself to others (family, friends, etc). So glad you are moving onwards & upwards, and I’m sure your word for 2008 will keep you on the right track!

  2. Great choice of word Kelly. When something similar happened to me a few years back the counsellor I saw talked about keeping the tank full and looking for signs when it was starting to empty so I coud keep an eye out and refuel. As woman I think we have a tendenacy to try and be all to everything and to everyone. You have done so well this year at refueling your tank, keep up the work.

  3. My morning shower is my time to gear up for the day and reflect on the world – this is maybe why my showers take soooooooo long! LOL!
    Yes us girls do seem to take on more than we should, but we need to take care of ourselves first or else everything seems to suffer. This is something I have come to realise over the last couple of years, I am getting the priorities right now – well most of the time 🙂

  4. Oh sigh I seem to be a slow learner but I too am figuring out that you have to leave some of you for you!! Hmmm thank you so much for reminding me of this I have been struggling lately and i think this is where I am falling down again 🙂

    I love the word you have chosen – such a cool and strong word – well done you and we are all here to help just sing out!!! anything, any time 🙂 xox

  5. Hey, I know this is an older post, but I’ve been behind on blogging and just catching up. I love that you’ve had a really good think about this and it feels so right for you. Its a great word to remind you to be kind to yourself. WTG you!!!! Glad to hear that although things went a little pear shaped you are now on track again. Go you!

Leave a Reply

