Friends · Scrapbooking · thoughts

Whhhheeeeeeee

That was the noise that this week made as it rushed though! Anyone else notice the week went by faster than a speeding bullet?

It’s kind of taken me by surprise that we have school holidays upon us as of tomorrow. I’ve not organised much at all. That probably doesn’t surprise too many people though. Mr 6 is doing a crafty class one morning and that is about it. I’m sure we’ll take in a movie, maybe Te Papa and plenty of playdates.

I did catch up with the GP on Tuesday. Sometimes I wonder why we even bother to show up at the medical centre. After a bit of a wait (partly because I was there a little early, partly because he was a little late šŸ™„ ) I think I was in there all of 10 minutes. Most of which he was typing out the referral to a surgeon. So some more waiting to be done while I hear back for an appointment with him (or her). I decided to go public because when the gallstones aren’t bothering me it is like I don’t even have a problem. I’m not certain of the waitlist time but I guess that will be discussed with the surgeon. Waiting has never been a strong point of mine, but I think I better get used to it. šŸ™‚

This afternoon I am meeting up with Beverley and Janine and best of all, Trace, who is driving down from Taumarunui I believe. She’s another lovely lass from Scrapbook Essentials forum. I tell you, it’s been so much fun to meet people in real life who you chat to regularly in cyberland. OK, it is a bit blind-date-ish too. But we’ll be right – safety in numbers and all that. šŸ˜†

Tomorrow I have an all day crop. One that I’ve organised no less! I’m sure it will all go well, but I’m always nervous about these things. For one, I’m hoping I get minimum numbers along simply so I’m not footing the whole rental!! That would not be so much fun.

The community centre is such a wonderful resource for us up here. The woman that co-ordinates the bookings raised the possibility of a regular crafting group making use of the facilities. I sort of shied away from the discussion beyond saying I thought it was a great idea. I’m not a great one on following through and was daunted by the thought that I might be in charge of something like this. However, I’m part of another crafting group which works particularly well. And so is a friend of mine who also lives up these parts. Ideas are being floated….

So tell me, if you are part of a regular craft group, how are things run? What things really work do you think? What things don’t? Do you meet weekly or monthly – or do you have another time frame? Do you have communal supplies or does everyone bring their own things with them? If you aren’t in a group, but would like to be, what sort of things would you want from the group do you think?

Yes, that’s right, i’m asking for some interaction. Feed me some mind food to mull over and give me your thoughts. Who knows, I might conjure up a wee thankyou here and there šŸ˜‰

13 thoughts on “Whhhheeeeeeee

  1. Good luck with the waiting – that can be the worst bit!
    Have fun meeting Trace. She really is absolutely lovely, I’m sure you’ll all have a neat time this afternoon.
    Hope the crop goes well too!

  2. Gallstones, great to have something on the move! I had my gallbladder removed 14 years ago.
    Have fun this afternoon and I look forward to seeing you tomorrow. Probably won’t arrive until closer to 10.30am. If possible could you send me some directions? Not being a Welly person I have no idea how to get there. Of course maps are usefull, LOL.

  3. What – Yvette’s coming? Wahooo! I’m so excited – can hardly wait. Meeting Trace today and Yvette tomorrow – yay, I love turning imaginary friends into ‘real’ ones. ;o) Of course I’ve met Trace before and I know she’s real. As for a regular crafty group – I’ve been thinking about starting one over here but I’m a slack organiser and scared of the ‘what -ifs’ … what if no body comes, what if only one person comes …

  4. My craft class consists of me, myself and I doing unspeakable things to yarn with a crochet hook, although I’m rearranging supermarket plastic bags into a large heavy-duty carry bag via the crochet hook, at the moment šŸ˜›
    Liking your blog, Mz Scrappy šŸ˜‰

  5. Hey Kelly – Good to catch up with you and Beverley and Trace. As for crafting groups I say just do it! You will never know until you give it a go. There is no way we would leave you in the lurch for the hall hireage. See you Saturday.

  6. Tell me about it, wheeeee, that was was the week, gone!

    Good to hear your diagnosis, well, not good to hear you have gallstones, but good to hear that there is a diagnosis, and that things are progressing.

    Craft group. Mmmm, I run a monthly crop here in town. Fortunately our hireage is only $20, so if we don’t get at least 5 people (we pay $3 each) it doesn’t happen. I know it’s a pain, but then it saves you footing the bill. Then, on the weeks when we do have more, and they are becoming more frequent, the extra $$ cover the previous shortfall. Hope that helps.

  7. Sounds like its all go where you are. Can’t give you any help or suggestions regarding a regular craft group but good luck with it.

  8. Ouch gallstones, glad you have things happening, I agree I am the worst at waiting – ummmm sometimes I go to crops and for supplies you just take your own and that is that LOL – of course if it is a shop crop there are some supplies to use and stuff to buy but that is different, we usually meet about once a fortnight and bickies and tea and coffee are included – oh I like what angela said about a minimum amount of people to that is a great idea šŸ™‚

    Ohhhh cant wait to hear how it all goes for you, good luck and I am sure it will be a ball !! šŸ™‚ Wish I could come šŸ™‚

  9. My week flew by too! Probably helped that DH wasn’t talking to me for 4 days lol. I think with the craft group you just need to give yourself a time frame. Say 6 months and if things haven’t picked up then maybe considering stopping. Getting the word out seems to be the biggest and HARDEST thing! Maybe meeting once a month unless demand is higher or people are wanting more. Games are always fun and special snacks/treats. But there is always just anonymously asking them what they want too. Just have them write down on a piece of paper what they would like to have included or how you can me the days better? Just my ideas šŸ˜‰

  10. Yep the week zipped past at astonishing speed down here as well – Jess came bouncing out of school yesterday with a “Mummy I’m all yours for the next 16 days!!” Hope all goes well for you in the health dept – in a word – Ouch!

  11. Good luck on getting an appointment, cross fingers, sooner rather than later.

    Starting off similar to the craft group you already know, CU, would be a good start point. I like the fact they have a theme every month not always taken by the leaders but by the members as well.

    I would definately come over to support you if you decide to do it. From what I’ve seen this week there does seem to be quite a lot of crafty people around where you live.

Leave a Reply

