Cards · Fun things to create

Di’s Sketch #2 Jan 08


This is the first card I’ve made for Di’s sketch team this year. It’s good to get back into the swing of things.

I quite liked using this week’s sketch – nice and simple but enough room to jazz it up a bit. I double stamped the swirl to give it a bit more fullness – and I reckon the resulting slightly messy look of the stamp contrasts nicely with the more structured lines of the paper. What I also liked about the end result is that I have no idea who will end up with it so the fact the colour scheme is neither too masculine or femine is good.

I have a tin that I have been meaning to decorate for a while. Hopefully by the end of the month it will be done. Inside the tin I will have monthly dividers. These dividers will list all the birthdays coming for the month. And the plan is to have birthday cards being made ahead of time so I can pull them out of the tin as needed. I know  😯   That almost sounds organised doesn’t it?!

On the quilt front, I have finished all the hand applique of the christmas tree design. I need to work out how to apply some ribbon to some presents and machine stitch the border on. I have no plans to hand sew the border onto the background…. I think nice, straight lines look much nicer when talking about borders. And my hand stitching wouldn’t have a clue what that means. I might however give the actual quilting a go by hand. We’ll see. I bought a thimble for my finger…. the poor tip of the middle finger is now bruised and sore thanks to the hand stitching completed so far. Who knew that I could hand stitch to the point of pain?!

Something I learned too while gathering the embellishment items for this quilting project. Spotlight is such a pain. Yep: that’s my lesson. Have you ever gone into that store thinking that because it sells pretty much everything that you can think of craft-wise, you’ll be sure to find what you need? I don’t know HOW many times I have fallen under the spell of the Spotlight promise. This time it was the buttons that drove me bonkers. I knew they had buttons, and from memory they’d had a reasonable enough selection. So off me and the Mr’s went in the rain and headed down the motorway to the store nearest us. The aisles as always looked like any one of my rooms at home (ie: a tip!) and finally I found where they kept the buttons. Only to find a much smaller and nothing like the promise of selection. I do not understand why I am so surprised at this result each and every time I visit. I do know the time between visits is getting longer and longer. 🙄

So anyway, if you check out this week’s sketch and use it to make a card, be sure to come back and let me know so I can take a look. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Di’s Sketch #2 Jan 08

  1. Great card, Kelly!
    And OMG what a cool idea that birthday card tin is!!! Genius! Do you think you’ll be organised enough to fill it up with cards before the birthdays? That would be by downfall I think, LOL!

  2. Our Spotlight down here has quite a selection of buttons … love going in there to have a nosey down the aisles, but more often than not … come away with more stuff than I actually need … can’t believe that I actually said that … LOL.

Leave a Reply

