Cards · thoughts

December 6th Card



Here’s my little card for Di’s blog this week.

I love how the patterened paper sort of looks all warm and faded…. still in Christmas tones but not quite – makes a good summer card methinks!

What I didn’t like is that my sheet of rubons (deja views) got pushed around on my desk (grrr! by a little Mr 6 who wanted to clear some space so he could play an online game….) That meant they have been sitting in the sun for a few days. Made the rubons really hard to rub on. More like rub until it kills you! The stamp is an inkadinkadoo one that I picked up last year. I love the stylised look – and it looks great all embossed and shiny gold!

I used: Bazzill cardstock, Basic Grey patterned paper, Deja Views rubon, inkadinkadoo stamp, encore metallic ink, embossing powder, faux stitching

If you take a look at some of the other cards made by the girls, one was made using ricrac in the place of the sketch’s scalloped edges. I was thinking of doing that, but found I didn’t have the right colour or sized ricrac for my liking. (I know! my crafting buddies will no doubt be surprised to hear my ribbon collection does NOT cover all requirements!) So I used the faux stitching… my current favourite technique! Saves me hauling myself up to the sewing machine!

From the “Exciting stuff in my life” file, I am having so much fun zipping around in a brand new SX4. I’m loving it! Sadly I only have it for a few hours while my Hyundi is with my mechanic. We have taken one of these peppy little numbers out for a test drive before (while we were dreaming of the kind of car that we would like to replace our current number 2 car).

I say dreaming as while we would very much like to have a bit of bling with our wheels, our abode requires a “bit” of maintenance. And as such it will chew through the dollars first. Sigh! So, sometime next year, we will be trawling through the imports and the 2nd hand cars instead. But for today, I can zip me and the boys around in a little bit of style and enjoy the keyless entry, the nice stereo, the cupholders being “just so”… you know: all the totally pointless and irrelevant but Oh-So-Nice things in life!

And if I win Lotto then I can run and buy me some bling! I must remember to buy a ticket one day.

2 thoughts on “December 6th Card

  1. Your card looks great… love the faux stitching and those colours look gorgeous together! I can so relate to the ‘totaly pointless and irrelevant’ cupholders etc 🙂 Haven’t got them either LOL

Leave a Reply

