family · thoughts

Party On!

On Saturday night hubby and I attended a friend’s 40th party. While that in and of itself is not so amazing – we are reaching that point in our lives where we know more 40 year olds than we do 21 year olds. When did that happen? Sigh! πŸ˜†

Anyway, back to Saturday. What I loved the most about it was the kind of bash that it was. A church hall was hired, many church friends catered it, there were some emotional speeches given, and friends and family from many walks of lives. N and G’s kids were the only ones there – it was specifically a grown-up do. They were allowed to stay until quite late then dad ran them home with the baby sitter before returning to do some serious partying. But watching the dance with guests and chat and generally just do things that kids do at these events brought back a lot of memories.

My mum was one of 5 kids and her and dad had me and my sister and eventually my brother quite early (for these days – the norm for back then). There is 13 years between my mum and her youngest sibling. So over the years, in many a country hall throughout the South Island, there were gatherings for 21sts, engagements and eventually weddings. For the longest time, myself and my siblings were usually the only kids there (long time before the cuzzies started appearing). There were masses of extended rellies and friends – on both sides of the couple. Rowdy doesn’t begin to define the general noise level!

I remember specific phrases being uttered: “nooo, I’m not sleepy/tired/asleep” – usually said while by head was lolling around and eyes rolling backwards into my head – unable to stay open for more than a 1/3 of a second. Finding a quiet spot on a little row of chairs, or a bench. My favourite spot was my nana’s lap: her chest was the softest of pillows for a little head.

So N’s party took me back to those days. It’s been a while since I’ve attended anything remotely like that. I hardly see much of my own immediate family, let alone the extended. I’d be lucky to recognise my younger cousins if I tripped over them. And this was a little like that at N’s party too: her family was represented but the majority was the many friends she had from various places.

I sincerely hope that the ever changing society pressures and such, where we find ourselves further and further away from our families (physically or emotionally) , doesn’t diminish the big old celebrations of old. I hope my boys get to experience the fun of a good old fashioned knees-up or shin-dig many times.

That might be a cue for hubby to start thinking…. πŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Party On!

  1. sounded like a great night. moments liket hat also get me thinking about family etc. I think that was the best thing we got out of our affirmation ceremony was having family around us and catching up.

  2. Too funny – we have only been to a couple of 40th parties and believe it or not we have a 21st in 3 weeks!! I guess I’m not *quite* the same age as you but I know we will be invited to fewer and fewer 21st from now on!! It’s usually 30th parties that we frequent … and mine is coming up next year too πŸ™‚

    It sounds like you had a great time, parties are always fun!

Leave a Reply

