things

A tough week – and more to come

Well hi! Goodness knows who will see this…. I’ve been absent for a few days and I’m still not quite with it. This week turns out to be a not so good one for me and my family. Starting off with nothing too major, moving towards just plain old yukky as Mr 5 was sent home from school – having vomited in the class. Oh yay. Soooooo glad I wasn’t there for that performance! So sorry for the teachers and the visiting grandparents enjoying their afternoon with the kids of JBlock.

Then I get the news of my own grandad. Admitted to hospital for pancreatitis (sp) only to discover he has a large aneurism on his heart. I’m gutted. I so want to be down there – my grandad means a whole lot to me. But the cost of flying down there is so prohibitive…. I could get our whole family to and from Australia for the same amount – no joking! So, I’m looking into other options…. and hoping I can get down there in time.

Trouble is – time. He could have 5 minutes left or 5 months. Or years! I think that is what I’m having touble coping with most just now…. it’s a timebomb and it would be so much nicer to just not know. Time is up when it is up and you don’t have to think upon it each and every day….. supposedly living life like normal. Normal life where a cough or just bending over might be enough to decide that that is it.

So, yes, I might not be around too much over the coming days…. but then again I might. Avoiding RL as much as I can hey?! One thing it has sharpened up my focuson though – I have been lucky to have my grandparents around as much as I have. I’m just not quite ready to do without just yet

5 thoughts on “A tough week – and more to come

  1. Wow, Kelly. So sorry to hear your news. I understand about your grandparents. I have wonderful bond with my grandmother as well and she is approaching 91, I believe. It’s been hard not seeing her but I feel ok with it since she isn’t what I remember anyway with dementia and old age. When my mom was afraid to tell her I was coming to New Zealand, I was fine with telling her. And she was fine knowing. She knew I had to come. So I get your whole relationship and while you have had them for a good part of your life that doesn’t make it any easier to think they may not be around much longer. *hugs*

  2. Kelly, hope Mr.5 is feeling better. I’m so sorry about your grandfather. I can only imagine what you’re going through but my thoughts and prayers are with you. Let’s hope for years!

    Big hugs

  3. Hey Kelly, sorry to hear about this. Here’s hoping you can get down there. Amazing how expensive it can be too fly domestically. Hugs and my thoughts are with you.

  4. Kelly, I’m really sorry to hear about your Grandad. I hope you’ll be able to get down there and see him. Perhaps book ahead for some cheapy flights (we got ours to Dunedin REALLY cheap by booking in advance) … I know you might feel funny doing that as it *could* be too late by then … but then again, it may not … ((HUGS))

Leave a Reply

